top of page


Emi Nishida is a Japanese composer, conductor, pianist, and percussionist. In 2014, she moved to the United States to study Film Scoring at Berklee College of Music. While she was a student, she worked for several short films and as a member of exclusive composers and conductors for a commissioned feature film “The Man Who Laughs” by Universal Studios. After graduating, she began working as a composer for multimedia, films, and concert works, both in the U.S. and Japan. Her work, “Han-gover Square” for orchestra, won an honorable mention award at The American Prize in Composition 2021. Other works include “After You Left“, which was used for SixTONES on eST arena tour in 2021, and “In the Night, We Saw a Shadow”, which she was selected as a finalist at Dartmouth College Wind Ensemble Composition Competition and premiered in Jordan Hall where is one of the National Historic Landmarks. She was selected as Top 10 composers at Oticons Faculty Film Music Competition in 2022. She was also selected as one of the mentees for SCL New York Mentor Program 2022-2023. She works as an assistant for a Boston-based composer, YUKI KANESAKA for his animation works as well. Her first album "In Between" is released on November 30th, 2023.

Besides composing, she has a passion for collaborating and performing with other musicians as a pianist. She has been working as a lead pianist in the Voice Department of Berklee College of Music, where she covers multiple genres like: classical, jazz, pop, R&B, ballet, and musical theater. She also performs her original pieces. For her duo project, Kakinishi, formed with an award-winning pianist Takumi Kakimoto, she wrote “Ganymede, the Cupbearer” for 1 piano 4 hands piece which was acknowledged by Oscar-winning composer, Ryuichi Sakamoto. Additionally, she is a member of a female duo Streepz, and their original song “Soliloquy feat. monolog” earned an award from Universal Music in 2021. 

IMDb :

  • Instagram
  • Bandcamp
  • Soundcloud
  • Youtube
  • Spotify
  • Amazon
  • Apple Music
bottom of page